Ten companies and industry associations from Newfoundland and Labrador recently returned from successful meetings promoting trade at the 6th Annual Southeastern United States-Canadian Provinces Alliance Conference (SEUS-CP) held July 14-16 in Halifax, Nova Scotia.

“The conference provided valuable opportunities for local companies to enhance commercial and trade partnerships, and identify new markets, potential buyers and trading partners,” said the Honourable Keith Hutchings, Minister of Innovation, Business and Rural Development. “SEUS-CP is a great venue to work with local businesses to help connect them with leaders in key sectors and to facilitate discussion to identify new markets for commercial exchange, and trade.”

“Compusult identified several new business opportunities at the SEUS-CP conference recently held in Halifax,” said Paul Mitten, Vice-President, Compusult. “We feel there are excellent prospects for working with a number of firms in Canada and at least one company from the Southeastern U.S. As a result of our participation in the panel discussion on Clean Tech, we also discussed partnering opportunities for new projects and sales in Asia. We view the SEUS-CP Conference as a valuable tool in its export and growth objectives and have participated in three of the six conferences to date.”

Smart Learning Solutions was a first-time participant in the conference.  “What a fantastic forum to exchange information, explore common business interests and establish new connections,” said Sharon Dominey, President, Smart Learning Solutions.  “The conference was a great catalyst for numerous continued discussions.”

Mark your calendars now!  SEUS-CP 2014 will take place in Raleigh, North Carolina May 4-6, 2014. If you are interested in this market please contact: Carolann Pollett at 729-4617 orcarolannpollett@gov.nl.ca.

ABOUT SEUS-CP” Established in 2007, the SEUS-CP Alliance is a strategic trade partnership between Georgia, South Carolina, North Carolina, Tennessee, Mississippi and Alabama and seven Canadian provinces (Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, New Brunswick, Quebec, Ontario and Manitoba).