OceansAdvance held a very successful Annual General Meeting on Thursday, January 18. Five new members were elected to the OA Board, they include:

  • Dr. Neil Bose

Vice President Research

Memorial University

  • Mr. Dave Finn

Chief Operating Officer

Petroleum Research Newfoundland & Labrador

  • Mr. Stephen Hale

 Director, Sales, Marketing and Business Development

Rutter Inc.

  • Dr. David Murrin

 Director General (acting)

NRC Ocean Coastal and River Engineering Research Centre

  • Ms. Michelle Simms

 President and CEO

Genesis Centre

Each of these individuals brings a wealth of experience and knowledge of the ocean technology sector and I believe they will contribute greatly to the growth and expansion of this cluster.

Angela Porter, who was elected at last year’s AGM, is halfway through a 2-year term as director and continues to serve OA with insight and enthusiasm.

I would like to thank outgoing Board members Dr. Wei Qiu of Memorial University and Ron Collier of SubC Imaging for their work and dedication over the last two years. Your time and efforts are greatly appreciated.

Finally, I would like to extend a sincere thank you, on behalf of OceansAdvance, to our AGM Guest Speaker M.P. Nick Whalen, for his inspiring address to the full room of Members.

Mr. Whalen’s address to the cluster outlined recent Government of Canada investments related to oceans, including the Ocean Protection Plan, the Coast Guard Atlantic Headquarters, the establishment of new Marine Protected Areas, and contributions to the Science Program and to National Defense. These investments are tangible evidence of the high priority placed on oceans by the Federal Government, Mr. Whelan’s message is very encouraging for the ocean technology sector in Newfoundland and Labrador, and in Atlantic Canada.